Sunday, June 17, 2012

Driving me Crazy!  well If I changed this up a little it is their driving that is making me crazy. When I grew up you took driver's education and learned how to drive properly. Things like not crossing solid lines [-ever!-], keeping right except to pass, merging, and how to operate a motor vehicle safely. On any given day...almost all of those go out the window in less then an hour.

First, I had no idea that in some states [apparently FL] it is not against the law to just drive the entire way in the left lane. I know in NY State...you could be pulled over and ticketed [seen that]. In our state....this is such a horrible idea - we have plenty of people who feel the need to be out driving in rush hour and get the whole highway clogged. Really, if you are retired...you do not need to be ANYWHERE when the door opens. Stay home and relax, you have earned it and let the rest of us get to our jobs with less stress. Head out after lunch!

We have frequent tropical downpours. It makes seeing the road tough, traction a bit sketchy and rightfully slows folks down [well most of them]. Well...it slows some folks to a crawl because they do not maintain their wipers and windshields. One word.....Rain-X!  Others are slowed because they drive around with tires that have no tread left. I will drive behind them cause I know they will not be able to stop!

The third worst thing...merging is an alien concept to most of S FL. Let one person into traffic in front of you. We all will get there faster, that one person and the rest of the line behind you. Treat the other drivers the way you want to be treated... isn't this a basic principle we all were supposed to learn WAY before we ever get the privilege of driving?

So as I get ready to hit the roads again, migrating through the hoards of distracted drivers ... I hope they are having a good day!  Be nice to one another!

No comments:

Post a Comment